Teaching values and behavior should be part of the school curriculum in every school. Discuss the arguments for and against this view.

People in modern society have been taught specialized knowledge which is merely necessary for specialists while fundamental behavior and values have not been educated. I am of the opinion that some standard values and behavior should be included in the school curriculum nationwide.

The school is the best place to spread out the standard policies or proper manner to the future generations of the country so that those standards will be multiplied in their communities such as their families. The more people are aware of rudimentary behavior and values, the less policy violations are committed. For example, if students were taught in school how to behave properly in public such as not littering on the street and not speaking loudly, then they will do exactly the same and even remind their parents about that.

On the other hand, a number of other behaviors and values are the consequences of combination of culture of particular areas, religiosity, and personality should not be taught in the school as it is not effective. In a particular situation and culture, the same behavior could be considered as inappropriate. For instance, killing people is a crime. However, in some countries, it is legal for doctor to provide a mercy killing to patients in some states, whereas it is illegal in other states.

In conclusion, I agree that values and behavior should be taught widely in every school, yet selection of which of them should be encompassed in the school curriculum should be considered carefully.