Team sports are generally promoted as a great way to keep fit and build character. However, sporting events such as soccer matches are often accompanied by violence between rival supporters and other forms of antisocial behaviour. If sporting events cause

The reputation of some team sports has been corroded by unfortunate events caused by fans, reason why some people are now asking themselves if team sports can really be good for us. The world of soccer, for instance, to which many people look up to and turn to in order to keep fit, build their character, and have fun, has been tainted by the violent and antisocial behaviour of some fans.

I believe that the violent acts carried out by these fans have nothing to do with the fact of team sports being good for us or not, at least when it comes to people who practice these sports to keep fit and for leisure. The fact that the antisocial and violent behaviour involved in many soccer matches affects many people, does not imply we should automatically think that the question “Can team sports really be good for us?” entails a meaning for everybody.

Most soccer players, for example, will argue that such a question is pointless, since it is a generally accepted fact that team sports are good for us, since they help people stay healthy and build up their character, regardless of the negative aspects that may surround sporting events. On the other hand, some people might argue that it’s a matter of the well-being of third parties. For instance, they might ask, are team sports good for us if antisocial fans end up fighting in the streets of our neighbourhoods, damaging other people?

To sum up, the real issue is not if team sports are good for us or not, rather how we should act in order to make the authorities involved in organizing team sports events solve the delicate problem of violent behavior, without affecting people who seek a better way of life through sports.