Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes, is one of the most widely-used drugs in the sorld. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long term health costs are high – for smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of he

These days, statistics have shown that all around the world, over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco

every day. Also, these numbers are expected to increase if nothing is done. It takes two to stop the

numbers arising and therefore, the government and the smokers have to cooperate to make the

country smoke-free.

The government should control the amount of smokers as the rising numbers could cause lost

productivity and an increase in the crime rate. Campaigns should be created and advertisements using

the mass media can actually help the smokers realize the disadvantages of smoking.

Besides that, smokers should also learn the gruesome facts on smoking. They should also realize that

there’s more to life than just smoking and that people near and dear to them could be affected from

their habit. Studies have shown that people who have family members who are smokers can actually

contract diseases such as cancer and other lung diseases.

Moreover, the increase in the number of smokers can actually mean that there would probably be an

increase in crime rates as well. Smoking would then lead to other dangerous issues like drugs,

prostitution, theft and even murder. Therefore, the government should act immediately to avoid

further damage to society.

Certain smokers who want to quit can find it hard to do so and this is when the government’s help can

come in handy. That is by increasing the age limit for adolescents to smoke, increasing tax on tobacco

products to make it a lot more expensive and also to provide support gropus for smokers who wish to

quit.

In a nutshell, smoking is indeed a problem to the nation and it takes two to work it out. The

government and the smokers themselves should work side by side to solve this issue.