In town and cities, the large shopping mall should replace the small local shop. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Discuss.

The effect of large shopping mall replacing the small local ones, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of international shopping mall investors has sparked the controversial over the potential impact of this trend on small local shops in recent years. It can be agreed that building big new brand shopping centers has some positive impacts, but some people claim that it has some negative impacts as well. This essay will elaborate how large shopping mall will help city's economy and how this might lead to less profit to local shop owners and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why large shopping mall will develop town's economy, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that replacing old local shops for bigger and modern infrastructures will increase the number of potential tourists who visit the city. For instance, in New York the construction of the biggest shopping mall of the US contributed with the development of the city in 2010. New brand shopping mall, therefore, can play a vital role to increase the number of visitors in the city.

Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view and tend to believe that replacing small local shops for big shopping centers is significant, but the most predominant lies in the fact that local business owners will lose on sales. As an illustration, Zara and Forever are well globally known companies, so small local competitors do not have the budget to compete in prices. Competency, hence, can play a vital role for small business shop owners in order to generate more profits.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that the impact of replacing small local shops for bigger shopping centers is prominent, although there are some drawbacks that should be well handled.