Travelling to study is over-rated. We have brilliant scholars who studied locally. Is travel really necessary for tertiary studies?

Knowledge is the only thing that cannot be stolen. Now there is a trend that students travel overseas for their tertiary education. Some individuals believe that it is needed to select overseas educational institutions for further studies while others argue that it is not as a compulsory thing. This essay will elaborate both arguments and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

To begin with, we all accept that it is everyone's right to get a proper education. In almost all the countries, government put a law that education is mandatory for children who are under fourteen. But we all know that, now there is a huge competition in education field. Hence each and every student tries to get the best for themselves. As a result of this foreign education is so much popular nowadays. Study in overseas is really expensive and that much of expenses cannot be bare by middle class parents. Though parents don't want to send their children abroad, students want to study in foreign universities. So that sometimes parents give them money by selling their own properties.

In addition, most of the countries have really good education systems. Furthermore, with the globalization most universities start their branches in all over the world. So that there is no need for students to travel as they can study from their desired universities by staying in their home country. In contrast if anyone wants to study some courses which are not available in their mother country, then they have to travel for another country. That's reasonable. For example, in Sri Lanka tertiary studies related Air craft engineering are still not available. Hence if anyone wants to study in that field has to travel for another country.

To conclude, if the desired courses are available ,then travelling for tertiary education is really not necessary.