In underdeveloped countries, tourism has disadvantages and can be said the opposite as well. What is your opinion? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is a colossal upsurge in the amount of tourism in the impoverished country, thanks to the extended marketing which allowed foreigners to discover places that were not known. As such, there are both merits and demerits to this trend, although I am of the view that former outdo the latter.

There a myriad of arguments of arguments in favor of my stance. The most conspicuous one is that tourist brings foreign currency, which is spent for basic needs, from food to transport to accommodation to indoor and outdoor activity and what not. Not only tourism creates a deluge of job opportunities for local people, but it also improves the economic conditions of the country. Needless to say, all these benefits stand nation, be it impoverished or affluent, in good stead, as far as augmenting its economy is concerned.

However, there are some pitfalls that can easily overwhelm the potential benefits of tourism in developing nation. The primary concern stems from the fact that it endangers the local sets of cultural and practices. Besides, people from the western country, who come from a whole different level of ethics, will have a negative influence on the youngster from their various acts, from public hugging to kissing to holding hand while walking and what not. Hence, it is apparent why many are not in favor of tourism in developing countries.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that despite some drawbacks, the benefits of tourism in underprivileged countries are indeed too dire to ignore.