What do you think of bidding to host sports events? Is it a blessing or a curse? Give your opinions.

Over the past years, the phenomenon of hosting major sports events and its corresponding impacts have sparked a heated debate. Although contested by some that hosting sports events creates lots of problems, such issue is regarded thoroughly both positive and constructive by a number of individuals. In my opinion, the benefits of hosting major sports event far outweigh its drawbacks, and I will elaborate in the following essay.

To begin with, bidding to host sports events is a blessing which can increase a nation’s reputation and help it gain international acceptance. The raise in profile further provides economic benefits on attracting tourists and large investment. For instance, a research conducted by Chinese Ministry of Economic Affairs showed a 56% increase in the business investment to China after Beijing hosted the Summer Olympics in 2008. Therefore, hosting major sports event increases a country’s recognition in the world and promotes economic growth.

Furthermore, significant long-term investment must be considered before hosting sports events. Governments shall invest in building sports infrastructure, public transportation and athletic accommodation which ultimately create numberless job opportunities around the cities. According to one of my study which I conducted in university, South Africa successfully reduced its unemployment rate to 12% in the year ahead of World Cup in 2014. Hence, it is impossible to deny the short-term economic benefits for hosting major sports events.

In conclusion, although the potential negative effects that a major sport events brings must be taken into account, I believe that bidding to host a sport event boosts a country’s economic growth and improve a country’s international position while its drawbacks can be eliminated through government’s careful plan and organisation.