What is your opinion on deducting marks on late assignment?

Nowadays, the idea of deducting marks by schools and universities on late submission of assignments has become controversial and drawn attention from various schools of thought. While many academics claim that teachers should negatively score the overdue submissions, others argue that this have serious implications for students. In my view, deducting marks for late assignment is not a good idea and should be avoided by teachers. This essay will further elaborate on both sides and thus, will lead to a logical conclusion.

To begin with, there are various reasons why teachers should not penalize students for late submissions. Most importantly, students who worked hard may become demotivated and demoralized if teachers deduct marks for overdue assignments and they would no longer take the tasks seriously in future. Secondly, students who could not submit their assignments for reasonable reasons like sickness or any other major reasons would feel devastated and would lose their focus from studies. Hence, penalizing students for the unavoidable circumstances is not warranted.

However, those teachers who claim that students should be penalized for late submissions believe that by this, they would become responsible and thus, enhances their performance. Moreover, this would instil seriousness and discipline in them to finish their assignments on time and pass with good grades. Thus, deducting marks for late submitting the assignments have some benefits too.

This essay discussed how penalizing students for overdue assignments can make them dedicated and how it can lead to underperformance by students. In my opinion, the disadvantages of penalizing students for late submission of their work outweigh its upsides and should be overlooked by school authorities.