Whether studying films at school is as important as studying literature?

Of late, there has been a colossal upsurge in the trend of prodigies discussing the studying films as important as studying arts, music and other literature subjects. Some people think that studying literature is more important at schools, while others maintain that films hold equal importance in academic curriculum. This essay will discuss that why films are not as important as the study of literature.

At the outset, myriad of arguments can be attributed to the importance of literature than films. Firstly, the most conspicuous is that literature ignites critical cognition and thinking skills and assist students to understand the literary meaning of every day to day act. As an example, literature incorporating work of Shakespear not only enahnces the vocabulary of pupils but also presents the history through the pen of the writer. As a matter of fact, studying and teaching of literature is far more important than studying films.

On the other hand, proponents of the view of studying films in academic curriculum are not cognizant with the fact that the study of literature also incorporates plays and theaters. Therefore, participation in these activities provide more exposure and boost the confidence level of pupils instead of studying films only. For instance, students will gain nothing by studying of films like avengers, spiderman etc rather participation in plays and theaters would increase their confidence level and equip them with various skills. As a result, it is quite evident that studying films at schools can be of any benefit.

To recapitulate, foregoing discussion propounds the view that studying films does not provide any special skill and is not at all important fo inclusion in academic curriculum in comparison to the study of literature.