As you read the passage below consider how Martin Luther King Jr uses evidence such as facts or examples to support claims reasoning to develop ideas and to connect claims and evidence stylistic or persuasive elements

In 1967, Martin Luther King Jr. delivered a speech known as "Beyond Vietnam—A Time to Break Silence" at Riverside Church in New York city to argues that American participation in the Vietnam War is immoral and detrimental. He effectively supports his argument by presenting a personal experience, addressing the opinions of those who oppose him, and making use of vivid language .

The first piece of evidence for King's ability to make a powerful argument lies in the story about his interactions with young people in "the ghettoes of the North". He reveals that when he talked to them about his "conviction that social change comes most meaningfully through nonviolent action", he was unable to answer their question, "what about Vietnam? ". This personal story helps King convey his message in a more relatable way because if the readers face the same question, they will also be incapable of giving a convincing reply. Moreover, the anecdote makes the readers wonder: what if their children also ask the same question and then, how are they supposed to give a right response. From such thoughts, the readers find it easier to relate to the author's view, and they are more likely to find his argument convincing. This result establishes a baseline for the readers to later agree with King that the American government should stop its involvement in Vietnam War.

In order to reinforce his argument, King also expresses his opinion about the question raised against him “Aren't you a civil rights leader?” in an effort to “exclude [him] from the movement for piece”. “..we could not limit our vision to certain rights for black people, but instead affirmed the conviction that America would never be free or saved from itself until the descendants of its slaves were loosed completely from the shackles they still wear”, King argues, and furthermore, “Now, it should be incandescently clear that no one who has any concern for the integrity and life of America today can ignore the present war”. This address is effective in supporting King’s claims because it shows that he is serious about the issue and that he will not cease from making his point about the Vietnam War. By answering this question, King also expands his argument beyond “certain rights for black people”, which gives the audience more insights into both the issue and his claim and thus, making them more likely to agree with him. In putting forth his idea solemnly and insightfully through an opposing question, King makes his claim that the Vietnam War is a serious issue that needs to be resolved.

Finally, King employs distinct linguistic choices to add the final piece of persuasiveness to his argument . In particular, such phrases as “idle political plaything” and “ a society gone mad on war” act as a tool to draw the readers in emotionally. Upon utilizing these phrases, King portrays the injustice resides in the existing government’s actions in such a shockingly plain fashion that immediately captures the audience’ attention. They can not help to engage in the argument King constructs and actually think about the issue in its most true sense, the issue of a war taking away “the soul of America.”, as King puts it. Put in such bold language, King’s speech indicates an honest attitude towards the reality from the speaker, and therefore, contribute to King’s credibility. This eventually makes the audience predisposed to agree with King’s claim that the Vietnam War is a real threat to the United States.

Responding to the disastrous consequences the Vietnam War brings to American black citizens, Martin Luther King Jr. makes an argument that the procedures American government conduct are wrong and devastating. By utilizing techniques of telling a personal anecdote, answering a question from those opposing him, and employing vivid linguistic choices, King persuades the readers of his claim.