Some people think that economic progress is the only way to measure a country's success, while others think that there are other factors which can be used to measure a country's success. What are these factors? Which, of all factors, do you think are most important?

Some people think that the economic progress is important to a country. However, in measuring whether a country is successful, there are still other factors to consider.

Firstly, a good education system is very important to a country. Education provides different kinds of knowledge to people, which is critical for the maintenance and improvement of society. For example, teachers teach the ethical rules widely accepted in society, so that children know what should or should not be done. Their perception of how to behave well helps to maintain a peaceful society. Furthermore, the academic knowledge that people learned can inspire them of creativity and thus innovations. Therefore, whether there is a good education that covers most of the people in a country is an important factor in a country’s success.

Secondly, a well-established democratic ruling system, under which people can vote to choose their own ruler and the ruler’s rights are restricted by law, is also vital to the success of a country. Under such a system, people can criticize the ruler without fear of being punished. This helps the ruler to think about his own fault and to rectify it. Through this process, the progress of a society can be achieved. Under the ruling system of a dictatorship, on the contrary, people are afraid to speak out their thoughts. The ruler can never receive any good advice and realize what he has done wrong. As a result, improvement seldom appears.

In conclusion, besides the economic factor, a good education system and a well-established democratic ruling system are also important in assessing whether a country is successful. Among these, in my opinion, a democratic system is of the utmost importance as it provides a foundation for all others to be effectively implemented.