25. The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away

In this memo, the Monroe developers are claiming that by constructing a Jazz club in Monroe due to the nationwide popularity of Jazz could bring up a huge profit to their town. To support this claim, the speaker provides information that Monroe is holding annual jazz festival and also highest-rated radio program is hold from this town. Despite these advantages, as the nearest jazz club is in long-distance with their town, the speaker claims they need a jazz club also in Monroe. However, the speaker’s claim seems specious in several grounds.

To begin with, the speaker is underlying assumption that people will likely to spend more meaningful time in the Jazz-related town rather than other non-relative places. Yet, it is too hasty to assert due to popularity of Jazz culture is not directly linked to commercial entertainment. Culture and economy are separate sections that different approach should be made. Of course, there will be some sparkling synergies between them, yet it doesn’t mean the popularity of Jazz warrant commercial success. Perhaps some pre-Jazz club owners in Monroe will be just interested in filling their wallet rather than sharing their Jazz endemic culture to the outsiders. If then, it will be hard to delude club visitors that they are actually profit seekers and will unlikely to visit anymore. Rather they will prefer a Jazz club with full-hearted soul in love of Jazz.

In addition, lending credence to the claim should be considered again as it contains another faulty assumption. The speaker presumes that having Jazz music club in Monroe could also successfully hold and persist Jazz festivals to such current degree. However, Jazz entertainment could flourish better where many people can access and participate by holding festivals in accessible locations. To illustrate, perhaps the nearest jazz club has geological advantage by being close to cities, whereby many residents could attend festivals right after their work or spend their weekends at ease. Yet, if Monroe is located relatively far from where many residents reside, despite the love for Jazz, people will be reluctant to visit Monroe with long-distance driving.

Moreover, the claim should be doubted because perhaps, ordinary people, not including the zealots of Jazz, are not contemplative enough to examine the superiority between listening to radio and to actual Jazz musicians. Perhaps they would prefer listening to radio because they don’t need to put effort a lot by visiting and finding Jazz clubs. Maybe they will likely to visit such places when they have family affairs or anniversaries with their lovers when they want to make chill moods. Thus, building a Jazz club in Monroe might be uneconomical in some grounds.

In sum, the speaker’s claim is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it, the speaker need to add more plausible scenarios by adding attractive Jazz concerts of Jazz celebrities combining with their construction of Jazz club in Monroe. Also, to better assess the claim, the speaker needs to articulate why he/she believes that culture popularity could support inducing economical profit.