ARGUMENT-The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc."A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our

In this memo, the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock Inc. asserts that no further use of the Endure manufacturing process will increase profits. To support this assertion, the author points out the following facts that no matter how the company advertises their use of Endure manufacturing process which ensures durability, consumer's choices to new products will be persistent. Also, citing to the consumer report in their largest market of saying consumers stylishness and color variance rather than durability. However, careful scrutiny of each of the facts reveals that it provides little credence for the author's claim.

First of all, it is possible that the author has confused cause with the effect respecting that their products have remained its reputation due to appearance and color variance. Perhaps consumers may think durability is the basic thing that socks have to have so didn't mentioned it at all. No products will be favored if durability lacks because no matter how stylish in its look. If the sock strings keep coming out and couldn't wear it anymore, then their stylish look will also disappear. Since the vice president has failed to account for this possibility, the claim is unwarranted enough.

Secondly, the author fails to account for other possible flaws in the accurateness of consumer report based on their largest market's consumers. What if the company is widely located internationally so that only with its extant consumer report, it may be a hasty generalization to say their products are favored not because of its durability. As the company has advertised the Endure process until now, the tradition of their manufacturing process might be widely acknowledged internationally, and that could be the real factor the company has lasted until now. Without providing evidence that the consumer report represents most of the consumer's opinions, it is not recommended to conclude their future advertising plans currently.

Thirdly, even if the vice president's future marketing strategy could stir up their profits, the author assumes too hastily that its outcomes will be positive and persistent. The author has not accounted for the possibility that consumers will leave if they lack showing evidence they are putting effort to the durability. By just mentioning the word, "Endure manufacturing process" itself might have strong power providing reliability of the product quality. If no further mentioning of it could cause the decline of consumption, eventually causing to amend their marketing plan again and uneconomical spend is likely to be expected.

In sum, the author's claim is unpersuasive. To bolster it, the author must provide better evidence that the author acknowledges the most favored part of their product, which could actually be the durability rather than stylish appearance, and the accurateness of their consumer report made in northeastern US cities. To better assess the claim we would need to know the future outcomes with no mentioning of Endure process in their marketing plans too.