The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner."Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central

In this memo, the author claims that the decrease in the number of shoppers in Central Plaza is because of the popularity of skateboarding, and therefore that prohibiting skateboarding in the plaza will prevent further decrease and would help the business to become regular as before it was. To support these assertions, the author points out that the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza might be related with the skaters and eliminating these acts should be held. On several grounds, this evidence provides little credible support for the memo’s recommendation, as discussed below.

First of all, the memo needs to ask whether did really litter and vandalism increased. The key is the extent to which skaters do such acts and effect shoppers to think they are bothering their feelings. It is entirely possible that majority of people would construe it as an advent of a new art style , and that people might want to enjoy more. Or perhaps, it might be just a practice for skating and skaters just chose the place to aggregate more people to join them. Imputing the decline of business to them may be like an excuse for the plaza to cover their poor business management ability. The fact that skater has to do with vandalism and litter is weak evidence since it could be just an alternative excuse for their business stagnation.

Secondly, the memo needs to ask what would be other causes that could have cause business decline. Yet the memo fails to account for this fact in concluding that the recent change in the plaza is skater’s increase and didn’t explain other possible reasons for it. In all likelihood, the time when skaters come out and the time when shoppers appear in the plaza might be different. For example, consider skaters work out at night and shoppers visit the plaza only in the days as shops usually open on daytime. Still the fact that skaters increased won’t change but will it effect significantly to the decrease of the number of shoppers. Without providing evidence that this is the only factor that caused the change in the number of shoppers, the author cannot convincingly conclude that shoppers are not likely to come because of skaters.

Thirdly, the memo must ask whether the opinion was the major opinion or not just some minor people’s thought. Yet the memo provides no evidence that actually shoppers really felt the increase and weren’t willing to come because of it. It might be just only the thought of the central plaza president whom is concerned about their business crisis, to wish it’s not due to his or her administration. Or perhaps, the people who think like that could actually not be majority but minority of shoppers and the plaza might misconstrue the minor opinions to be the major opinion. Without providing evidence as to how the vandalism and litter.

In sum, the memo is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it, the author must provide better evidence of the real relationship and its effect between the increase of skaters and the decline of business profit. To better assess the author’s conclusion, we would need to know more about did really vandalism and litter increased as a major opinion of the shoppers or was it just minor opinion pretending to be all their voices.