Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by Palean people. Recently, however, archaeolo

The conclusion drawn by the author that woven baskets with the mentioned distinctive pattern were not originated from Palea is weak and lacks substantial proof. A few arguments have been put forward by the author but there are several unwarranted assumptions and ambiguities in his argument. Taken as a whole, these unstated premises render the argument to be specious. Unless they are addressed with valid reasons, the entire argument falls apart.

The author has made the assumptions that Palea has been in the same state from the prehistoric eran until now. Yet the memo provides no substantiating evidence for this assumption. Perhaps, unrecorded events may have occurred and swept all establishment Paleans had made. Admittedly, at least one small piece could be found, however, it is not sufficient to prove since none of empirical material recapitulating what happened in that era are found. It is reasonable to doubt that natural disaster or intertribal warfare vanished Palean baskets. Perhaps relatively stronger tribes resided in Lithos could have stolen all the baskets or extinguished them to cut off their root. Thus the author fails to address the existence of such possibilities which undermines his assumption.

Another assumption that the author fails to justify is that boats were the only transportation between Lithos and Palea. Perhaps boats might not have been the only transportation between them. Rather, land roads or bridges which happens to be gone now due to some geographical changes could have existed in the ancient period. The author overlooked the capability of building such means and of occurrence of some unexpected events that destroyed them making it as same as the current state. Unless there is sound proof that boats were the only choice able to connect those regions, the author’s assumption is weak to advocate.

The author also fails to consider the possibility of cultural contact between two regions. The trade of these unique baskets might have been exchanged for commercial and diplomatic uses. The fact that the baskets were found only in Lithos does not imply that Paleans were unable to make them. Further research in the range of not only Lithos and Palea but also other marginal states should be conducted to precisely examine the possibility that Paleans were also able to make those unique baskets. Either of these scenarios, if true, would cast serious doubt on the author’s claim that the originator of the baskets were not from Palea.

In sum, the author’s statement contains several assumptions that seriously undermine its validity. Unless they are backed by substantial proof, the entire argument falls apart.