The following appeared in a health newsletter."A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that numbe

In this memo, the author claims that the government should reinforce education about bicycle safety to bicyclists rather than encouraging them to wear helmets. To support this view, the author points out that according to a study, a supposedly accident preventive solution by wearing helmets adversely resulted in increasing bicycle accidents rates compared to the rates of 10 years ago. Also, he/she reasons that wearing helmets let bicyclists to take more risks. Although the argument may be sound, nevertheless, a number of questions need to be answered in order to verify it.

Firstly, the author assumes that the surveys are credible enough to support general trend which can be refuted by lack of representativeness. Although the first one was presented as nationwide study, it is uncertain whether the survey participants are big enough to represent all bicyclists. In addition, there are no clue that the second study was also conducted as a nationwide study. Even if the studies appears to be representative enough to show general trend, the presented percentage of two different periods are questionable since they are just relative data. The author unfairly assumes that the current population of bicyclists who wears helmet significantly increased compared to 10 years ago. However, it is unknown whether current total population of bicyclists is as same as the past one. If current population of bicyclist declined significantly during the past 10 years, the number of 80 percent of them could be less than 35 percent of the past population. If true, the study’s suggestion that helmet wearers have increased could be wrong. Accordingly, based on above reasons, given statement that the increased accident rate is because of wearing helmets does not stand true all the time.

Moreover, the author assumes that whether wearing helmets or not is the sole determining factor deciding the cause of bicycle accidents. Yet, there may be multiple other factors that are influencing the outcome of accidents. For example, new domestic or abroad bicycle courses were introduced to bicyclists and some dangerous and unfamiliar courses could have contributed to increasing accident rates. In addition, not only helmets but also advanced bicycle equipment could have made bicyclists to take more risk by relying too much on tools. Perhaps they were not used to using them and could not have been in proper use. Thus, the author has to consider if there are any other alternatives to support the claim.

Even if above points were proven in the author’s favor, it still needs to be asked whether educating people about bicycle safety could significantly reduce the number of serious accidents. Even though wearing helmets could not have solved the fundamental problem, it doesn’t offset the benefit of wearing helmets as a whole. Helmets, designed to protect bicyclist’s head, is crucial in riding bicycle since if injured, it could lead to irreversible brain damage such as paralyzing arms and legs. For this reason, wearing helmets should be encouraged with safety education together to prevent higher accident rate.

In sum, the argument seems to be unpersuasive in its current form. To bolster it, further evidence pertaining survey’s representativeness, alternative accident causes, as well as the risk of not wearing helmets is crucial in determining the validity of the claim.