Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than

In this memo, the author claims that future research on the subject mentioned in the memo should be conducted through the interview-based method. To support these assertions, the author points out that Dr. Field’s research method of observation-centered access so old dated that the interview-based method of recent research method is more reliable for supporting data. While some anthropologists also recommend this method for future research, the evidences provide little credible support for the memo’s recommendation, as discussed below.

To begin with, the memo must doubt whether is it reasonable to say old data can be refuted by recent data anytime. While some think observations held twenty years ago is obsolete and unreliable sources for this research, the other believes it is still viable to induce the conclusion of the research. How children in Tertia were reared need vast information such as the history of their nurtured environment since possibilities of social, environmental and cultural changes exists all the time.

Moreover, the memo needs to confirm the main sources that support Dr. Karp’s predilection of interview-based method. This fails to account for the fact that talking more about biological parents means being nurtured mainly by them. What if they have so strong bonds with their biological parents that they like to talk about them all the time even though they are reared by their entire village until now? In this case, it is unreliable to say they are nurtured mainly by their biological parents.

Thirdly, the memo needs to ask whether Dr. Karp’s interviews were aggregated mainly by the children in the island of Tertia. The key is checking how many percentage of the interview data were originated from the children in Tertia. If their interviews were possessing only 5% in the total data, then it is unlikely to say Dr. Karp’s interview is plausible since it is not depending on the subjects that needs to be researched.

In sum, the recommendation in the memo is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it, the author must provide better evidence that recent interview-based data is reliable enough to rebuke the observation-based interview held twenty years ago.