Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

The claim seems at first glance to be a defense of autocratic government, a system that ignores the will of the majority in favor of a ruling elite. Certainly I reject such a system, and I am suspicious of its trappings. However, I also feel that in some cases, experts are far better equipped than the average person to make decisions. The remaining decisions, particularly those which have immediate consequences for public welfare, should depend on a popular vote. Thus, policy-making should be divided into, on the one hand, long term policies that demand the complex forecasting of government experts, and on the other hand, short-term policies whose effects the public can judge quite accurately.

The first reason I have such a view is that government experts are Better-suited to decide long-term policies. These experts have done extensive research in their fields and can make long-term predictions accurately. For example, government experts can make better decisions about national science policy because they can make detailed projections about the expected funding costs and material benefits of research investments. Monetary policies, such as interest rate and inflation control, are also best left to government experts. Those with a solid understanding of mathematical models of economics can make long-range calculations that are beyond the understanding of the common person.

Decisions that have more immediate consequences, meanwhile, should be put to a public vote. If the government could set the tax rate as high as it wanted to in order to increase revenues, public dissatisfaction would skyrocket as citizens' budgets were stripped. If taxes were removed, people would see their favorite publicly funded programs disappear. Citizens have an intuitive sense of how the tax rate will affect spending, public programs, and general welfare, so they are best-suited to this decision. The same is true for drug policy, which can have short-term effects of either widespread

imprisonment or public treatment and rehabilitation, depending on the policy.

Most policies do have effects that are immediately understood, and thus fall into the second group described above. Hence, decisions made by government experts should be reserved to those few that do require long-distance calculations. Of course, an argument could be made that almost every decision has long-term effects. Still, those effects are often closely tied with the immediate consequences that citizens can intuitively understand. Since governments will try to overreach in their decision-making, we should make sure that the distinctions outlined here are clearly codified

in a constitution and in other law books. In this way we can maintain a society that integrates the will of the people with the judgment of experts.