If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting yo

In this memo, the author asserts that any methods are reasonable if the goal is worthy. This claim might hold true in certain grounds, however, it is an unfair generalization in that it fails to account for other empirical evidence serving to discredit it. The following essay will contend that even if a goal is worthy, not all methods could be accepted.

Admittedly, the author’s claim that any methods are justifiable if its goal has merit might seem to be valid in certain circumstances. Otherwise, the significance of the expected outcome will be diminished or obscured because of its relatively trivial factors to preclude its process. For example, the studies of biotechnology and stem-cells include manipulating human embryos in order to discover any solutions or traces that could contribute to solving spinal cord injuries, diabetes, cancer and other genetic disorder to our society. While this goal is intrinsically worthy considering its contribution to our human health, pro-lifers still assert that it is morally unacceptable since manipulating human embryos is an act of irreverence of human life and is harming pre-born lives. However, aborting such researches could bring various potential threats to humans in the near future as more complex diseases of which cause is not definitive is increasing and considering prolonging human life span, we should find solutions to cure various diseases unless we do not want to suffer for the rest of our lives. As discussed above, the author’s assertion might hold true in certain circumstances.

Nevertheless, given statement cannot hold true all the time. Even if a goal is worthy, any means that includes threatening human lives or social stability, it should be precluded before its launching. For example, the Philippine president Duterte is well-known for his response to drug crimes as executing the death penalty for anyone who is involved in such crimes. As there are no excuses to prevent one’s own death penalty, it seems the drug crime has become to decline. On the other hand, there are some who treat this kind of action suspicious since the ones who have been dead included political rivals of Duterte and other journalists who have shown dissent opinions about him and his government. As the process is not clear enough to prove everyone’s crime involvement, to achieve a worthy goal, more sincere actions should be made since it involves saving one’s life. Moderate methods other than killing people could be suggested to control drug crimes. Therefore, the author’s claim does not stand true all the time.

In sum, while at first glance the author’s claim seems to be appealing in certain aspects, in light of counterpoints, given statement cannot be agreed in full. We would need to concede that while aiming a goal that is worthy, using moderate methods could also be another choice to achieve its goal rather than using any means that is not acceptable since the latter choice could be too extreme that it could violate human life without scrupulous contemplation.