"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

In this memo, the speaker claims that providing cooperative environment to build leadership of young people is the best way. While at first glance, the claim seems reasonable and well-supported empirically, nevertheless, it is unsuitable to compare both value of cooperation and competition given that their values can be variable, thus the statement is unpersuasive on several grounds.

To begin with, modern society is filled with competition. As it is one of the most efficient way to discover talented people in any aspects including leadership. With best tactics, individuals and groups can outperform and their tactics could be appreciated well in competition. For example, most of the well-known football clubs rear young players and put them in harsh competition. Among them, coaches find a suitable one in each position including team captain. This captain position is not discovered by just looking teammate's cooperation but it has been examined by several criteria. Therefore, the most efficient way to prepare their leadership is likely to be built by competition.

However, competition can taint the real value of its rearing process. Anything with excessive degree should be avoided because it can cause some unnecessary conflicts. Rather than witnessing or tolerating arrogance and disregard, young people should learn how to coax others and make encouraging atmosphere pursuing to make their best outcomes. Related with the above-mentioned example, Casillas, ex-goalkeeper of Real Madrid, showed great conciliating skill among national football teammates of whom easily fought with each other for Spanish regionalism. He was raised in exposure of various regional effects from his family; although he was born in Madrid, he used to practice in Barcelona.

Nevertheless, the degree of competition among young people is diverse domestically and internationally. For example, general tendency is that while a society of small population is likely to cooperate to make accomplishments, one with large population is likely to prefer competition in order to sort out outstanding people and perform efficiently to make the same result. Moreover, if the country is under capitalism, it is likely to have more competition than cooperation as economy is ran by the former system. Thus, the means to have prospective leader should be considered in wide range.

In sum, while at first impression the claim that cooperation is the best way to build leadership for young people seems mutually exclusive, it appears they are not. Thus the speaker’s claim has some merit. Nevertheless, competition can be also the most efficient way to find a suitable leader through severe examination. In the final analysis, the correctness of the speaker’s claim should be considered in case-by-case basis.