Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium—substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental

In this memo, the author argues that a diet rich in dairy products may virtually increase preventing from having the risk of osteoporosis. Supposedly, previous prevailing thoughts about dairy and milk products was the rich proportion of Vitamin D and calcium in them was likely to prevent an environmental and genetic related disease and muscle-weakening. However, the author argues its outcome is the opposite by reasoning the symptoms of the products’ steady consumers and pointing out the characteristics of the above mentioned disease, osteoporosis. Yet, the argument is found to be specious in several respects.

To begin with, the argument relies on the assumption that majority of steady dairy product consumers’ symptoms are likely to be consistent. Yet the memo fails to substantiate the accuracy of data. Perhaps the data collection period was too short to evaluate such a conclusion. Or perhaps, the subjects or extents of data were too narrowed that it only retains information about a limited area. Thus, the research is recommended to be conducted in a more diverse and wide-ranged criteria which cover some obstacles to the conclusion.

Even if frequency of disease occurrence of osteoporosis to the products’ daily consumers turns out to have some merit, the memo fails to provide evidence to support this assumption. Perhaps, even though a person stops to eat dairy foods, osteoporosis or muscle-weakening still can occur due to human derogation. Muscle-weakening is one of the well-known elderly disease, which all human suffer one day. Also, since the cause of osteoporosis contains genetic factor, it could occur to the ones who has family genetic problem regardless of dairy food consumption.

Even if the author can substantiate the two forgoing assumptions, the argument relies on the additional assumption that if subjects of the research are really confined to daily consumers. For example, let’s say the research included two types of consumers regarded to be ‘frequent’ consumers; ones having dairy products every morning and the other having every morning and night. It seems they consume more than average, however, there is conspicuous difference between them: the former will have seven products per week while the latter twice as the former. If then, it is unreliable to say the former is also frequent consumers of the product. Therefore, more specific criteria for the research should be stood.

In sum, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it, more accurate data source is required for proper evaluation. To better assess the argument, we would need to know that if the subjects of researchers were really confined to daily consumers and even stop having dairy products would really decrease the occurrence rate of osteoporosis.