In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Does any work of art must be understandable to have merit, as this statement suggests? I agree that in many cases, having merit means it is sort of an agreement among people asserting that it does provide significant inspirations to people. As the major consumer of art works are not the artists but the viewers, it is likely to say the art work should be understandable so that it will be easier to be respected from people.

On the other hand, since art can be interpreted in various ways, there are minor but resilient supporters who endorse and understand intricate art works and asserts that it has artistic merit. For example, independent film usually contains difficult messages and express it in unoriginal ways which requires audiences to have enduring effort to understand the message. As a result, it does have less public interests, however, it doesn’t mean that it has no merits. There are still efforts to support and sustain this kind of film genre because some believe that its abnormal characteristics might give inspirations to people’s creativity. Also, it is likely to be supported by people whose wills are to raise the topics to public interests since those issues are usually neglected from people.

On the one hand, it is still important to be understood by majority of people, because if any art works have less interests due to its intricacy, then it will be forgotten in a fast pace. Let’s say there is a painting just only painted in black color but the title is called ‘happiness’. Will it be easily understood in normal sense? Black is generally evocative of dark, miserable, dreary concept. Unless it provides persuasive explanation why black was happiness to the painter, it will fade away from people’s memory and eventually even lose its potential artistic value. However, it might be reasonable to say that its potential value is unfortunately not discovered yet by people. Maybe in the next generation, this kind of intricate art work could be highly valued. This was the same thing happened to Van Gogh, one of the most important painter among art history. His painting technique using strong strokes with flamboyant colors was not attractable to public at his lifetime. After he died, his unappreciated painting style was starting to obtain public interest but unfortunately the one who already used that style for the whole lifetime was already gone. Like this, there might be some art works that is neglected currently because it is ahead of time. Thus, it is too early to conclude that any art works must be understandable to majority of people in order to have merit.

In sum, I agree that any art work should be acknowledgeable in order to have merit since it can aggregate people’s consensus that it is worth it to respect its meaning and expression it’s using. However, whether being understandable is a mandatory thing must be addressed on a case-by-case basis.