The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for t

The speaker claims that technological advancement provides efficient lifestyle of which purpose is to increase leisure time. At first glance this claim seems reasonable as leisure entertainments are becoming various compared to those of the past. Yet, this claim is specious since confining the advantages of efficiency to leisure time seems narrow-minded in several grounds.

A threshold problem of the speaker’s claim is that its internal logic is questionable. The speaker is suggesting that the scope of the advantages from achieving the main goal of technological advancement is having more leisure time. Yet, circumscribing it only to leisure seems too parochial and monolithical considering human’s actual technological advances such as machine learning or IoT, which succeeded to provide convenient lifestyle for disabled people and single residences. Especially, further technological researches could be conducted with ease as cutting-edge technology spares more time to let scientists and developers to be more concentrated on their work.

Nevertheless, accumulating more leisure time is also important since human’s will for pursuing happiness has taken an important place as one of the characteristics when explaining modern society. As we have learned from history, we have gained and reinforced individual rights and a majority of people are more likely to spend time for their own nowadays. Leisure time is regarded as one of it, and people are finding happiness through experiencing what they favor. Its value is discovered when such a relaxing and recharging time helps you escape from hectic life pattern, which eventually affects one’s life efficiency in a positive way. Hence, as technological advance affords to eliminate inefficient time and let us use those spared times for personal entertainment, it is plausible to say the purpose for technological advance is correlated with increasing one’s own efficiency.

Although it is partly true that the cycle of life pattern that has no leisure time is expected to be an unproductive lifecycle filled with stress and depression, it is spurious to assert the primary goal of technological advance has only to do with increasing efficiency. Among goals of such advances, solving problems that threatens our life is actually more important than having more leisure time. The environmental threats we face in modern times is becoming more critical as time passes. We witness increasing rate of unprecedented natural disasters and the degree of those phenomena’s power are becoming stronger that make us fear our future. Even technological advances we made so far becomes trivial in front of those calamities. In order to sustain our life in this planet, technological advances are mandatory not only for the sake of ours but also for our future generations. Hence, determining technological advance’s goal should be reconsidered.

In sum, the speaker’s claim is unpersuasive in some points. While having more leisure time through technological advance could be a reasonable claim because flexible lifestyle, which comes from having leisure time, could enhance your own life efficiency, it is tenuous to assert as there are more important purpose for such advance. To bolster it, the speaker should broaden the scope of expected advantages of technological advances. Furthermore, the speaker should consider the need for such advances could actually be more primary for our future problems which threatens our life too.