Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced

In this memo, the advertising director is recommending that increasing budget to Super Screen movies could enhance their advertising strategy to reaching the public. To support this recommendation, the speaker is indicating that most reviews are not prospective enough and this is due to the lack of awareness that they have movies with good qualities. However, this claim in underlying some false assumptions, thus this claim is specious in several respects.

To begin with, the director is assuming that most of the movie viewers wrote review after watching. Yet this claim seems just specious. Perhaps people who thought the movie was terrible didn't even wanted to write any reviews because of their unpleasant feeling. Instead, positive viewers were willing to write good comments and this could be the reason to find relatively positive reviews.

Moreover, since the recent marketing department's report didn't mentioned about specific criteria for its survey, it is insufficient to determine the reliability of the report. It is said that the report was based on the survey of past year's viewers, however, there are no mentions about the extent of past years. What if the marketing department was established like a year ago, which is insufficient time to scrap considerable data, or what if the interviewees were just limited mostly to young generations who are generally fanatic to Super Screen movies compared to the older generations? Thus, specific criteria for survey is required to make reasonable conclusion.

In addition, given that Super Screen-produced movies contains various scopes, such as science fiction, romance, or social criticism, it is difficult to apply same judge to each movies. So when asked to review about Super Screen movies, it is likely to speak with general opinions about it instead of picking a specific movie and talk about its quality. Thus, by just claiming that actual viewer's review is not reaching to prospective reviews, it doesn't mean that they are not aware of the fact that movies of good quality is available; it was just that they were not asked with specific details.

In sum, the director’s recommendation is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it, improving the quality of survey and providing specific criteria for judgement should be established. Also to better assess the argument, we would need to know if the report was made with sufficient data.