'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the c

In this memo, the author argues that not sparing enough time to local and weather news and increasing time to national news had led to lose their original viewers. To support this argument, the author points out that a skew of complaints toward local and weather news may be the major reason. The author also reasons that increased local business cancellations also resulted in having less information in their broadcast. The argument is found to be specious in several aspects.

To begin with, the argument relies on the assumption that lack of local business’s advertisement led to insert less local news in their broadcast. Yet the memo provides no substantiating evidence for this assumption. Even though there were less financial support to the local news, there would be equally important news as same as the national news. Local news is unlikely to be broadcasted off-region. What if a huge explosion that destroyed many of local houses with no proper inspection, then exclusive report should be held for several days to alert the media and government to inspect the accident. Thus lacking reliable evidence of losing financial support from advertisements is difficult to accept this hasty conclusion.

Even if the lack of time sparing to weather and local news made to lose viewers turns out to be reliable, the memo fails to provide evidence to support this assumption. Perhaps a majority of viewers could think the information of the next day’s weather is less accurate compared to the next morning’s weather broadcast. Weather always changes and natural phenomena always have possibilities of exceptions. Since Earth is suffering from global warming, unpredictable occasions tends to increase and getting harder to expect the future weather.Whoever could imagine a sudden rainfall in the middle of dessert what just happened in Egypt 2 years ago and imagine sudden volcanic eruption like the one just happened 3 days ago in Hawaii island. Either of these scenarios, if true, would cast serious doubt on the author’s claim that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its prior level.

Even if the author can substantiate the two foregoing assumptions, the argument relies on the additional assumption that lack of advertisements of local buisness led to less devote on local news. Yet, perhaps local businesses were just canceling for temporary purpose. For example, a local area which prospered for ship-making industry for the last 20 years could have had an economic strike such as consecutive ship-building firms’ bankruptcies. The utmost thing to do is maybe recovering their damage and resurrect the companies. If then, natural cancel of local business advertisement could be expected. Thus without further reasons for the advertisement cancellation, the author’s argument is seriously flawed.

In sum, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it, the author must provide better evidence that the accuracy of broadcast content is credible enough that can still maintain their viewers. To better assess the argument we would need to know about further information about the background of advertisement cancels.