Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archa

In this memo, the author argues that woven baskets with the mentioned distinctive pattern were not originated from Palea. To support this argument, the author points out that while only the ‘pattern’ was found in Palea, the actual ‘object’ were found in Lithos and since it is located across from Palea, it is more likely to be originated from there. The author also reasons that the most persuasive transportation between Lithos and Palea could be the boat but none are found. However, the argument is found to be specious in several respects.

To begin with, the argument relies on the assumption that there were no actual object, woven baskets, in Palea until now. Yet the memo provides no substantiating evidence for this assumption. Perhaps, the objects disappeared due to unrecorded events occurred in that ancient era. Admittedly, at least one small piece could be found in Palea if it was the origin, however, it is not sufficient to prove since none of empirical material recapitulating what happened in that era are found, it is reasonable to doubt that there might have been some unrecorded events that led to its disappearance: natural disasters that may have swept the village or being plundered attributed to intertribal warfare. Thus lacking reliable evidence of proving no actual baskets existed in Palea until all this time is difficult to accept the hasty conclusion that the baskets with the mentioned pattern were not from there.

Even if the argument relies on the assumption that since boats are not found, there would have been no cultural contact between two regions. Yet the memo provides no substantiating evidence for this assumption. Perhaps boats might not have been the only transportation between them. Rather, land roads or bridges which is gone now due to some geographical changes could have existed in the ancient period. Or perhaps, relatively stronger tribes resided in Lithos could have stolen all the baskets or extinguished them to cut off their root. Either of these scenarios, if true, would cast serious doubt on the author’s claim that the originator of the baskets were not from Palea.

In sum, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it, the author must provide better evidence that there were no transportation between two regions except boats and historical proof that Palea didn’t had the baskets for real in that era. To better assess the argument we would need to know about whether there are historical records from marginal states describing Palea had made the baskets and lost them by some unexpected event and also any geological traces proving there were some cultural contact with Lithos.