It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Throughout the history, human have made numerous incredible works but at the same time occurred disastrous accidents by adhering to one’s own beliefs. Indeed it is important to have our own beliefs and try to develop to others and for the human future, however, it is dangerous when it threatens others’ rights or even lives. Thus, I assert that compromising one’s own beliefs is less harmful than cleaving to them for the several reasons mentioned below.

World War 2 is remembered as one of the most haphazard event that happened among the human history. Considering majority of German were with Nazism, some insist that their economic and social instability at that time led them to lose their conscious control and were easily eluded to Nazism. It didn’t allure people logically but emotionally of which can be explained by crowd mind in psychological term. The known consequences can’t be easily understandable in common sense, and this is why adhering to only one power belief can be more dangerous than compromising with conflicting views. What could have happened when Nazism were forbidded by righteous thoughts and be weakened? Maybe Holocaust could have been nonexistent at all.

Nevertheless, there are some cases that led huge success and positively affected our society by sticking to one’s own belief despite wide resistances. A movie called ‘October Sky’ showing 4 young boys’ the most challenging try to success the rocket launch where being a miner were the most promising thing in their village. No matter how people gave them derisive laughter, they still stick to their belief they will succeed and showed unlimited efforts which changed those who laughed at them to give expectations and encouraging them at last. At last, they succeeded and became celebrity in their town and influenced many people to have hope and try anything that looks impossible with the belief they can succeed as same as they did. Thus, in some cases, adhering to one’s belief might bring positive effect intrinsically.

However, it is still dangerous when you assert only one belief as human beings are easily to make mistakes. Evaluating the consequences of one’s conduct is actually could not be omitted when making important decisions which could affect a lot of people, society, or also to other nations. Like presidents of one’s nations can’t stick to one’s belief and policy because if they overlook the consequence which could harm people then it can’t be resolved easily and have to go through big negotiation or conflicts socially or diplomatically. In order to make the best choice, compromising with some conflicting views can complement one’s own idea to a better one.

In sum, some might think adhering to one’s own belief could bring unpredictable positive impact to our society and enhance our life. Indeed, sometimes it is useful but we should never overlook the consequence that could bring because it can change to an uncontrollable one if we don’t take good care. Sincerely considering and compromising with other conflicting views might can make one’s own belief to a stronger, agreeable or righteous one and more positively affect to our life.