Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

The author contends that critical judgment of an expert has greater strength in its value. At first glance this claim seems appealing, however, the following essay will argue that why this may not always be the case since non-expert’s enthusiasm could have higher competitive advantages than experts in some cases.

Admittedly, the author’s assertion that expert’s in-depth knowledge could make critical judgment to have great value. More often, experts make greater contributions than beginners or laypersons in a field of inquiry with their long standing experience and know-hows in that field. They are the by-products of expert’s accumulated studies and it is likely for experts to be exposed to discovering more efficient problem solving. For example, Edwin Hubble, an American astronomer who is recognized as one of the most important observational cosmologists of the 20th century, is well-known for his great invention, the Hubble telescope. Important fact is that this invention was made by his lifelong dedication of meticulous research. Without his punctilious spirit as an expert, the Hubble telescope might have not been created which could have led to the discovery of Milky Way and its surrounding galaxies. Thus, non-experts cannot always exceed experts only with their passion alone. Expert’s long standing knowledge plays a crucial role in making paramount progress.

Nevertheless, beginners in that field could outperform better than experts in some cases. They are likely to come up with creative and unprecedented ideas, while experts constrain themselves with their rigid boundary of knowledge. There are some examples that some of the history’s great discoveries were made by non-experts in their field. Jeffrey Bezos, an American business investor and the CEO of Amazon, first started his business in a garage. Although Amazon was originally an online bookstore, he had always planned to expand to other products. Eventually, Amazon became one of the most influential e-commerce market and this all started from a beginner in this field who had innovative business plan which no one has ever tried before. Without his technological entrepreneur’ insight, the growth of e-commerce may have not come to its current state. Therefore, beginners could be said to have superior side compared with experts in a sense that they might have more innovative thoughts.

In sum, the statement seems slightly unpersuasive as it stands. While at first impression, the claim seems to be mutually exclusive but it turns out to have some merit since expert’s ceaseless effort and long standing knowledge plays a crucial role to making substantial progress. However, the beginner’s innovative insights sometimes are more suitable to modern trend because their ideas are not fettered by any conventional ideas and could produce bigger advantages to us.