The following is a letter to the editor of the Waymarsh Times."Traffic here in Waymarsh is becoming a problem. Although just three years ago a state traffic survey showed that the typical driving commuter took 20 minutes to get to work, the commute now ta

In this memo, the editor of the Waymarsh Times argues that Garville’s policy will work equivalent in Waymarsh. To support this argument, the author points out that a recent survey shows commuting time increased twice as 2 years ago and reasons that new road-building could not work efficient as a solution. Marking the success of Garville’s new policy, the editor recommends implementing identically to Waymarsh will benefit its residents. However, I find this claim specious in several respects.

To begin with, the author claims that demographical and occupational condition of Garville and Waymarsh are similar enough that is likely to make equal outcomes. Yet this claim is too hasty to conclude since there are no mentions about their conditions. Perhaps Garville is a well-known town for mining and most of the residents’ workplaces are concentrated to certain places which made sharing ride to works was efficient. However, if Waymarsh is located adjacent to the capital of the country then residents’ workplaces will likely to be dispersed to diverse places of which sharing rides turn out to be inefficient. Therefore, confirming the backgrounds of both towns should be required before implementing Garville’s policy to Waymarsh.

In addition, the author mentions that financial inefficacy of new road-building led to recommending Garville’s policy implement. Yet the author relies on the assumption that the only traffic solution is new road constructions and this will disrupt the residents. Perhaps Waymarsh could have examined other methods such as subways or bicycle roads. Also, they should have done surveys among the residents whether they will feel disrupted by new construction regardless the value of fast access to their workplaces by constructing new roads. If the expectation seems plausible enough, some would endure few years and willing to have convenient commutation of which benefit will continue forever.

Moreover, the author asserts that sharing rides and being provided free gas coupons could lessen pollution and commuting time. Yet the author is overlooking the disadvantage of carpooling; one should devote oneself to drive more and commute longer. If anyone who gets disadvantages by following this policy, it doesn’t have any meaning for doing it. Unsatisfied people will complain and can have conflicts with advantaged groups. To diminish this discrepancy, Waymarsh should specifically judge the advantages and side effects of conducting Garville’s policy to prevent social disorder.

In sum, the editor’s recommendation is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it, examining the similarities of both town’s conditions should be conducted. Also to better assess the argument, we would need to know whether Waymarsh residents showed unpleasant proclivity to new road-building and whether it was the only solution.