Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure

In this memo, the speaker claims that obeying not unjust laws but just laws is everyone’s responsibility. While at first glance the claim sounds paradoxical on its face, the paradox is still explainable and the explanation is well supported empirically. Nevertheless, the claim cannot be supported by some evidences serving to discredit it. Thus the claim seems unsupportive in several respects.

To begin with, without professional law knowledge, it is hard to perceive which law is just or not. Since law deals with diverse provisions, the interpretation between people with different understandings could be various also, inclining to one’s self advantages. For example, the juvenile laws are likely to be less than ordinary ones. Yet as juvenile crimes are getting worse and more cruel, there are voices to amend them to more powerful ones. Meanwhile, some disagrees with the voices since incomplete cognitive abilities attributed to their crime and should give opportunities to amend oneself. Thus, until such disputes are finished, laws should be obeyed no matter what.

However, unjust laws are usually unsupported by people and they are required to be evaluated with more stringent standards. If majority of social members disagrees with the unjustness and speak one voice to revise it, then the legislation headquarters should reconsider its status. People are speaking their own words louder than before just as coming out feminism or homosexuality is more liberated to speak. If there were unjust laws discriminating socially disadvantaged groups from others should be reconsidered for its abomination. If not, our society is not a place warranting freedom to every individuals which sounds anachronistic.

Nevertheless, unjust laws are also laws and as we are one of the members in a certain society, it is our duty to follow them. Even though, it is unsatisfied and feel uneasy to follow such dirty law, it is regarded as a promise that our society decided. Orders are orders and if unconformists keep increase, then our social life could be threatened by social disorders. For example, although increased terror attacks in Europe were found to be originated from ISIS or one of radical refugees from the Middle East, attacking any Islamic people for any reason like revenge doesn’t rationalize its conduct. Indeed, locals can complain about accepting some tolerance to them relative to the significance of crime, seemingly unjust laws are also part of laws so people should endure and participate to stabilize their own society.

In sum, while at first impression disobeying unjust laws seems mutually exclusive, it appears they are not. Thus the speaker’s claim has some merit. Nevertheless, legislation system should monitor every disputable laws for reconsideration and reflect majorities’ opinions. In the final analysis, the correctness of the speaker’s claim should be considered in case-by-case basis.