Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

The passage is flawed for numerous reasons. Firstly, it talks about things that happened twenty years ago and compares it to current time occurance and then it also unwarrantingly assumes that just one example, which can equally be an exception, proves one methods supremacy over the other. It also doesn't take into account the subject of the matters that are being taught to the children as they grow and blindly assumes that it isn't concentrated around their parents and is rather spread equally.

For one, the passage doesn't take into account that the observation done by Dr. Field was done twenty years ago. Within this twenty years a lot of things can change and that includes the culture of the Tertian village as well. Maybe within these 20 years, they changed their child raising policy from a ubiquitous system from individual, subjective one and children are now reared by their specific parents only. Or, there might just be a mixture of these two methods overall. To evaluate this properly, however, we need to know about the changes in the culture of Tertia Island within these 20 years.

Secondly, Dr. Karp's conclusion doesn't consider the fact that although the children are being reared by the whole village, the teaching policy of the village might just be about the importance of one's parents and family. They might be giving importance to those things while nurturing them and that creates a strong impression on the children's mind and that's why they talk about their parents more and not about the whole village because that's just how they were brought up in the first place. A broader knowledge about the culture of the Tertians and their teaching methods as well as contents would be really helpful to assess this point.

Finally, the interview-centered method might just be asking them questions about their parents or things that somehow relate to their parents. Then the children's parent-centric answers should not really come as a surprise. Again, just because the interview-centered method gives a different result doesn't mean that the results that it got is more correct or superior to the result of the observation method and therefore proves that method invalid. One example cannot prove than one method is working and the other is not and in the future, another method may get a different result but that cannot definitively prove that the earlier two methods are 100 percent invalid. Threfore, we need more information about both the correctness of the result and the topics of the interview-centered method to properly reach a conclusion.

The passage, after getting a different result from another method hastily reaches the conclusion that the earlier method is invalid. Moreover, it takes in account neither the time discrepancy nor the contents or the teaching methods of the tertians ti verify that either of the methods are correct and proper and therefore must be viewed as a fallacious reasoning based on faulty and unwarranted assumptions.