Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

While I agree with the first part of the view that corporations do have a responsibility to improve the condition of the societies and environments in which it is operating, I am not completely against the view that as long as they are working withing proper law constraints, corporations need to make as much money as possible which is needed for their survival and understandably many corporation's main goal.

First of all, promoting the wellbeing of the societies create a better, more convivial place for both the employees and the employers to work. Creating a situation where people no longer are restricted within the title or their position and can act freely and naturally with one another makes the place generally amenable to better working and social interactions. People are more likely to do better when they do what they are enjoying and no one likes to work when they are withing strict restrictions or in stuck-up situation. Rather working where there are just enough limits to maintain discipline and otherwise a affable atmosphere overall, can greatly increase the productivity of any corporation.

Then there is also the effect of a batter, more safe working environment. People are naturally concerned about their safety and will not work to their maximum efficiency when they are chronically concerned about their safety within their working environment. Again, a gloomy and murky workplace doesn't increase productivity in any way and is more likely to have a adverse effect on both the mindset of the people working there and their physical torpor. Creating a better working environment with proper safety precautions will only garner more attention to the corporation as a better one than its contemporaries and will make it stand out among its peers. Thus, people are more likely to either apply for a job at the corporation and even the existing staffs tend to do better in a safer, more enjoyable environment which in turn increases productivity and makes more money, which is the concern for many corporations.

A better environment and society doesn't, however, undermine the importance of earning money by any means. Some corporations are fairly new and they need this early influx of money to stay afloat. While others might be in a compromising state in which the only way that they can keep running their corporation is by making more money. In neither of these situations, they can afford to spend more money than the amount needed for their basic survival. Therefore, giving more importance to society or the surrounding environment in these cases will be nothing more than foolish action because the company will go bankrupt before it even has created a proper working base for its workers, let alone better environments.

In conclusion, we first need to create a stable working situation for any companies within proper law standards and make as much money as possible which is necessary for its survival. But once we've achieved that we should focus on improving the surrounding environment and the social conditions to ensure a better, safer and more enjoyable place for everyone to work.