People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Human society consists of myriad of problems that differ from each other in their inherent nature. Not two problems are equally alike and there is no hard and fast rules of how to solve each one of them. While I do concede that People making decisions based on their rational thinking are generally the better decision makers, there are some cases that requires emotions to be prevalent before thinking to have any effect at all.

The idea that thinking comes before doing is generally deemed as a great saying by people of all ages. In fact, it is so true that we see it in almost every day of our life. Any decision, based on just emotional thinking tends to have some consequences. These consequences vary from inconsequential to extremely deleterious in some cases. Take the instance of joining a graduate school for example. If we take the decision hastily based on the exuberance of receiving the first letter of admission, we're doing a mistake. Again, any person thinking that he will choose college X because it is closer to his house or that all of his friends are going there is probably making a mistake thinking based on his emotions because college Y, although far, might provide him with better tutors, teaching materials and therefore, better chance to further his career. All of these decisions, when made under the heat of the moment, can have serious detrimental effects on the afterlife of any student. Thus every opportunity, no matter how attractive needs to be weighed against its pros and cons and be passed through a series of rational thinking processes before making a definitive conclusion, thus minimizing the potential dangers of it.

This idea of always making decision based on logic, however, doesn't prove fruitful in every sphere of our life. In the battlefield, for example, when two people are standing in front of each other in a life or death situation, a moment's hesitation could be the death of anyone. If one were to make a decision here based on his logical thinking, it would take far more time and he could possibly lose his life. Here, thinking based on his emotions and thus triggering his desire for survival could be the key to hasten his reflexes and overcome his opponent. The same is true for the field of any competition. Most sports permit so little time for its contenders that more often than not, there is very little time to take a logical decision. Higher dependence on logical thinking, therefore, could severely undermine the competitors chance to win. One needs to make the best use of his experience and strong but necessary emotional spurts to keep him above others and prevail in the long run.

Sometimes, over thinking can cause us to lose an opportunity which we could have appropriated otherwise. Better chances are given to people who raise their hands first when asked a question when compared to one who is still weighing the pros and cons in his mind. An outfielder who sees a ball floating to him might think that at the pace that he can run, he will never catch the ball. On the other hand, a player who knows that he can't catch the ball normally but goes for the ball anyway, might just be able to catch the ball because of the emotional strength that is provided to him by the roaring spectators and his own fervent desire to win. Over thinking, therefore needs to be culled and only used in cases where you have ample time to determine the outcome through precise deliberation of the pros and cons.

In conclusion, although logical thinking usually wields better and safer results, there are cases in which logical thinking falls short and emotional thinking prevails. Judgement of the situation and the type of thinking needed is therefore crucial so that the proper decision can be made and the dangers can be minimized.