So long as they are aware of the dangers involved, Adults should not be legally bound to use seat belts.

Safety of the people is a major concern in driving and seat belts are important factors that contribute to the it. While adults, when made aware of the dangers involved in not wearing a seatbelt would be more likely to wear seatbelts than underaged ones, this in no way can prove that all of them will use seatbelts and thus be safe during a drive. We, therefore, need to consider a combination of these two methods of raising awareness and imposing legal binds to get the best safety possible.

First of all, being aware of a danger and doing everything that can protect you from that danger are not the same. We can do everything to make every adult in the world know about the dangers of not driving without a seatbelt and even then we cannot say for sure no accidents involving adults not wearing seatbelts will occur. Even as sufficiently knowledgeable and warned of the consequences, an adult can easily forget about wearing a seatbelt especially if he's in a hurry or is engrossed in something else. Giving way to their unwarranted bravura, some adults might think that they can make the journey without using seatbelts and some might think that as they are so proficient at driving, they don't need the aid of seatbelts. All of this can come as a factor contributing to accidents involving drivers not wearing seatbelts even when they are adequately aware of the dangers.

Secondly, the idea of removing the legal bind is not conducive to the fact of becoming more aware. In fact, some people become more aware of the rules and regulations once they have been punished for breaking them once. This is specially important for teenagers and young people in general who are aware of the rules but not considerate enough to follow them. These legal bindings keeps people on their toes when driving a car as they know that they will be legally charged once they are found without seatbelts. Also, money is a big factor when raising conscience of about anything. If we charge money everytime a person is caught not wearing seatbelts, they are more likely to become much aware of it in the future because no one in the world wants to lose money even if they have an insane amount of it. Removing the legal bind, therefore, precludes thse important mediums of raising conscience among people about the importance of wearing seatbelts.

Finally, the idea about removing the legal bind is not without complete merit. As people are made more aware of the dangers through generally noticeable mediums such as films, advertisements, documentaries, local media etc, even when there is no legal bind, they are likely to follow the rules. In fact, once something people like is made formal, a lot of people become apathetic to doing it. For instance, a short story about a girl and her favorite bird is likeable and everyone loves reading it until the point when it is inserted in a textbook. Once students know that they have to read it to know what is in there and to understand it completely because it is likely to appear in their exam, they become uninterested in it. Likewise, removing the legal bind and making the reason more compelling in other ways can decrease accidents involving people not wearing seatbelts to a great extent.

In conclusion, although removing the legal bind once people are made sufficiently aware of the dangers of not wearing seatbelts can have a positive effect, in the long run, legal bind is that very factor which makes raising conciousness important. Therefore, we need to make sure that the legal bind is strictly reinforced while at the same time making the people aware of the dangers because only the combination of these two can make the roads and the drives more safe and pleasant for everyone..