So long as they are aware of the dangers involved, adults should not be legally bound to use seat belts.

Wearing a seat bealt is legally enforced by many countries. Some people say that, as an adult, people can do whatever they want if it only harms themselves. Others would say that law should enforce that individuals take care of themselves. While adults are resposible for their own choices if they are aware of the consequences of their actions, there is still the need to make use of seat belts considering that their actions may cause consequences in people around them.

One argument in favour of not being legally bounded to using seat belts is that a human being is free to do what they want, as long as they don't harm other people. One example of this is eating food that is generaly considered bad for health. Even if there are dangers involved in this action considering the long term consequences of health problems, this action is not considered illegal by authorities. However, this is a situation where a priori only the author of the action can be hurted. Taking this into account, indeed seems reasonable that it is not enforced by law to eat health since there are no other parties included on the possible consequences.

With this in mind, wearing seat belt is not a solo problem like eating unhealthy food. If there is a crash, the drivers body could be launched to other people in the car. This situation could lead to harmful situations for passengers in the vehicle, with a body shocking to other people and putting other people into risky moments. Therefore, the action of not wearing a seat belt is not only affecting the adult aware of the consequences of it, but everyone in the vehicle. Even if the adult had clear idea that there could be consequences in other people other than himself, laws should make sure that individuals are wearing it since other lives are at risk.

Along with the possible effects on people around the car, the body could affect people around the street as well. A body with more than 70kg traveling in fast velocity can hit other cars in the roads and people walking in the streets. This is another scenario in which not wearing a seat belt would also be harmful for others. Wearing seat belt is, therefore, a necessity: adults can be responsible for their own lives, but not for other lives.

In resume, adults should have control of their own lives and be resposible for the dangers involved for themselves without having a law enforcing them to do things. Unfortunately, wearing seat belt is not one of this situations considering that other people are involved as well, so it makes sense to legally force adults to wear it.