Studying food ways – what foods people eat and how they produce, acquire, prepare, and consume them – is the best way to gain deep understanding of a culture

Foodways can show how people behave: What kind of food they are eating? Are there any traditions in the way it is prepared? By answering those questions, there can be important information regarding the life style and culture of individuals. However, while foodways can definitely show a peek of a culture, other factors are still fundamental to gain a deep understand of a culture.

Some people could claim that foodways would be the path to deeply connect and understand a culture. For instance, the way citizens in USA consume and prepare food can certainly show some behaviours. Some examples are the fast food culture there, where lunchs are individuals and rapidly prepared. This behaviours can be associated with some trademarks which permeate the american culture, such as individualism and the urge that everything occurs instantly, respectively. With this in mind, we could see a link between foodway and the culture of this country.

On the other hand, while the foodway indicate the direction of a culture, it is not possible to say there could be a deep dive from it, specially considering how complex culture is. Some aspects, such as the large consumption of fast media, with thousand of series and movies for all tastes at online platforms such as Netflix and Hulu, or people's intense relationship with social media, cannot be derived only from foodways. Even though they can be related, with for example advertisement of shows on fast foods lunchs such as McDonalds, it is not necessarily related to how food itself is prepared and consumed by the population. Furthermore, while citizens are continually using more phone apps to buy food, there is still a necessity of more views to gain a deep understanding of how much newer generations are consistently more immerse and dependent of social media apps, which is a strong trait of americans nowadays. Therefore, other factors are still important to understand deeply how a culture works.

In conclusion, foodway for sure helps and can give insights of a culture, by showing some common traits from a certain population. Still, since culture is multifaceted and extremelly, it can be challenging to actually deeply understand it only from this point of view. There is certainly a necessity to look at other points of view to actually understand it deeply.