"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Leading a nation requires all of its people to cooperate to the best of their abilities. However, there are places and things that require competition to be just as significant if not more. Although I think that a sense of cooperation is most important in preparing a nation's young generation for leadership, competition is nonetheless a very important factor that cannot be disregarded.

First of all, Cooperation helps people work to their strengths. Every single human has his/her strengths and weaknesses. While in a competition method one would have to overcome his/her weak points and thus address every point on his own, cooperation can exploit the fact that when one is weak is a specific part, there might be another person who is strong at it. Without spending months or years of precious time, one can then focus on his/her strengths and thus further the growth of the country. Where a CEO who is outstandingly articulate when giving speeches falls short when it comes to making decision, he can overcome it by having diverse set of views from his solicitors and maybe his thoughtful secretary thus creating a system of cooperation where he can exploit the strengths of all minimizing each others weakness. Cooperation thus becomes a valuable tool when pushing a person to strenghthen his strong points.

Additionally, Cooperation helps people build a healthy and genial environment that is easier to work in. When people are subjected to a system that doesn't force them to constantly improve to just keep pace with the system, they can focus more on the points that need improving in order to be more useful. A person writing a novel can focus more on the writing and not on the numerous typos and spelling mistakes he tends to make solely beacause of the fact that he has other people helping him who can take care of them. He can then put all of his efforts into improving his writing and the strengths of his composition rather than going back every five minutes to see whether he has made a mistake or not. Cooperation thus saves time and effort by making people do what they do best and improve them even further.

Finally, all of these advocacy of cooperation can never undermine the importance that competition has on a workspace. A sense of competition is just what one needs to keep pushing him to his limits, to keep strengthening himself against all the odds. When there is no competition, no reason to fall out of the loop, people tend to become complacent and there are many people who do better if there is competition in the workplace as opposed to there being none. A company's CEO when thinking that if he doesn't improve on his management skills just as he is adept at his oratorial skills will get replaced by another competent person will do his best to stay on the competition and thus making self-improvement. Similarly, this self-improvement is exactly what one needs to lead a country, its people and its government, industry or other fields. Competition is therefore very important to keep people reminding of his or her weakness and adress them as time passes by.

In conclusion, a sense of cooperation is just as important as workplace competition to ensure the young genarations the tools that they need to lead the country. Therefore, not choosing a single one rather having a strong and necessary combination of the two is necessary to best prepare one to life's challenges.