In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The argument is faulty because of numerous reasons. In thinking that the cleaning of the river will increase the river for water sports the government fails to notice the time discrepancy among the related events and also ignores the fact that there may be other reasons than the waters cleanliness that prevents the residents from using the Mason river for their recreational activities.

First of all, the residents complaining about the quality of the river water doesn't mean that once the river is cleaned up, they will start to go there immediately for their recreational activities. They may simply be trying to improve their milieu which doesn't have any relation with their pastimes in any way. Again, the river water may be unusable for the recreational activities for some other reasons. maybe the Mason river has very shallow waters that doesn't allow for wither swimming or boating. The river may be contaminated with nearby industrial discharges that precludes the survival of fish within its waters which makes fishing also a fruitless activity. If we had definitive evidence that the residents apathy is only because of the cleanliness and quality of the river and not some other reasons, then we could get further insight onto the matter in question.

Secondly, the state has recently announed plans to clean up the mason river. As the details of the plans are unknown, we cannot say for sure that the cleaning process will not take more than a year. Maybe the river is in such a bad state that it'll take upto five years to clean up the whole river. Even then we have to prepare the riverside to able to accomodate for the residents recreational activities before they can actually start to frequent there which will require even more time. Therefore, just improving the quality of the water cannot determine that the use of river for water sports will surely increase.

Last but not the least, the argument unwarrantigly assumes that cleaning up the river will increase the riverside sports within this year and therefore the government should devote more money in this years budget. But for all we know, the river may take 2, 3 or even five years to get cleaned properly and even then we have to think about the proper refurbishing of the riverside and surrounding environment to make it more habitable and enjoyable for the residents. Without knowing the proper details of the announcement, therefore, the governments devoting of more money in this years budget to reverside recreational facilities may not prove fruitful at all.

The argument doesn't provide enough evidence for us to reach the conclusion that improving the quality of the Mason river ensures its popularity among the residents. It also fails to provide evidence that the announced task will be finished within a year and thus the arguments suggesion of devoting more money in this years budget to riverside's recreational facilities is also unsound.