The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

Music has been pervasive in our life for about several decades now and the popularity of some of the famous musicians are sometimes beyond comprehension. Although this popularity might play a role in the assessment of the genius of a musician, death and is never a way to determine whether the judgement is completely honest or not.

Fame is an inegral part of any popular musician and can definitely be a point to keep in mind when assessing his talent. This has to do with that a lot of people idolize their favorite musicians and therefore want to keep him a level above anyone else. Again, some musicians, although equally talented, may have compromised assessment because they were less popular during their lifetime. Therefore, after their death, when all the popularity is finally a naught point, from the general point of view we can assess them from a more impartial angle. This, however, does not by itself prove that contemporary popularity is the only thing that matters when making this assessment and death is the only thing that can preclude it.

For one, some musician's popularity are perennial. These musicians' death doesn't mean anything as their popularity will continue to remain pristine in people's mind even after their death for many years to come. Some musicians actually have become far more popular after their death when some of their not published compositions have been brought to light. Thus, death is not a deciding factor in this cases where the assessments of the musicians talents will always be biased since they are either more or equally popular after their death. Furthermore, music evolves and peoples' tastes change. What is considered impressive today might not hold the same prestige 10 years from now. So, what the musician wanted to tell us through his compositions might be lost if we wait for him to die and his popularity to wane. A lot of musical records might be lost because of lack of preservation and an extremely talented young musician might never have the popularity he/she deserved in his lifetime.

Then there is the fact that were talking about people who get swayed by their biases when making judgement. But one might ask, is that really the actual assessment of a person's real talent. The true critics of music never get swayed by their predilection for their favorite personas as they make their decision and therefore they are the people that we need to consider when deciding about a musician's true genius. Popularity, therefore plays absolutely no role here because we're not considering the opinions of the people that are moved by popularity. A musician that might have done far better and flourised a lot more if he had been popular, might be compromised in his compositions if we never think from a disinterested viewpoint and never give him any ground for improvement.

In conclusion, although fame does play a part in making an assessment of a musician's genius, this should not be a deciding factor and the assessment should be done from a disinterested point of view where death is not a considerable factor that can affect it.