The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

Music is a phenomenon that has been pervasive in our lives for centuries. During these times, some musicians gain limitless popularity whereas some don't get the as much. Although the popularity of a popular musician can be a factor when making an impartial decision, waiting several generations after the death of the musician never makes sure that the judgement is totally unbiased.

For one, some musician's fame is perenninal. We could wait 50 years and still the fame of those people will never wane. For instance we can think of the musicians the composed our national anthems and songs of independence. Even after their death they are still alive in our heart for the immortal compositions that they created. Michael Jackson has been dead for almost a decade now, yet youths still hear his songs while imitating his famous "moonwalk". If the claim of the statement is true, therefore, even after their death their popularity will continue to interfere with the honest judgement of their true potential, thus rendering the fact that death negates the effect of popularity, invalid.

Secondly, we need to determine exactly what do we mean by an honest judgement. During any point of life, a small survey made on a small number of people or maybe a research done on how youths conceive a musician is never an honest judgement. Thus, these judgements need to be made by those who know the field of music like the back of their hand. These people, the true critics of music will judge any composition, whether the musician is dead or alive, honestly. Fame is, therefore not any part of their assessment and thus weakens the argument's validity by a great scale. Again, as all things, music changes as time passes by. What is famous and popular now might not be the same 5 years from now. If we wait several decades, therefore, a innovative composition could lose its potential and might not even be considered as part of any known or famous genre of music at that period. Some recordings might be lost or be corrupted due to negligence or lack of preservation. Thus, the assessmnet of these recordings several decades after the death might not prove to be fruitful in determining the true and unbiased genius of that musician at all.

All of this, however, does not undermine the fact that popularity does have a visible effect on the assessment of any persona. Any person, in his hey day, could be rated spuriously high by his avid supporters. For instance, people that are fond of the iconoclastic display of dressing that Lady Gaga displays might rate her way above others if a questionaire or suvey concerning her impact were to be performed right now. Many people wouldn't even think twice before giving her a 5 out of 5 stars on a moment's notice. However, 10 years from now, when these people are either tired of her or maybe have changed to a new genre of music might think her just as another wild dancer who doesn't know what she is doing and might lump her with other aspirant novices. Thus the culmination of one's popularity will inevitably give someone his/her highest evaluation which can be oftentimes a clear hyperbole.

In conclusion, What we perceive as popular music today might not be the same as time passes by. Therefore, if the judgement is done by the true enlightened personas who don't get swayed by the effect of popularity, the lifetime of the musician is the best time when his true potential can be impartially and correctly judged.