Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The argument is flawed because of numerous reasons. For one, there is lack of evidence that suggests finding only one "Palean" basket in Lithos refutes its unique "Palean" authenticity. And again, the basket could have reached Lithos via alternative methods other than boats which the passage doesn't take into account.

Firstly, the passage assumes that since the Palean people weren't found to possess a boat, they couldn't have passed the Brim river and so there was no way that the Palean basket could have gotten in Lithos which, therefore, proves that the Palean basket was not uniquely Palean. But it doesn't consider the possibility that Palean people might have used transport method other than boats such as large rafts or even big ships to get there. Or, maybe the Palean people did have some boat but they were destroyed during the time the researchers found the palean civilization. Maybe someone bought the basket in Palea and then returned to his home in Lithos and that’s how the pot was found in Lithos. Therefore, to prove that the palean people had no way to get to Lithos the passage needs to provide information about the other kinds of transport methods that the paleans may have utilized.

Even after the transport method may have been assessed, we need to think that maybe the basket didn't need to reach there via a specific person. One basket could have easily floated through the Brim river to Lithos and someone who noticed it might have just appropriated it for its own use. To assess this, however, we need to know the fact whether the basket would float in river water and even then we would need to know whether the flow of the river would take it towards Lithos or any other direction away from it.

Finally, there is also something to know about the culture of the Palean people. They might have practised teaching students from places other than their village their craft, and among them one could definitely be from Lithos. Again, a resident of Palea who was also an artisan later might have migrated to or simpley traveled to Lithos and might have disseminated his skills there. To evaluate this, however, we need to know about the culture of the Paleans.

All these considered, we can come to the conclusion that, we need a lot more than what is provided to determine whether the basket was unique to the Palean people or not and without those evidences the conclusion of the passage is definitely flawed.