In Fall 2010, the Transportation Security Administration stepped up its security efforts in U.S. airports by incorporating random full-body searches as part of its counter-terrorism efforts. These full-body searches were a response to the refusal of some people to accept the use of full-body scanners, which were judged by some to be excessively revealing. The Chief of TSA and the Secretary of State both came forward to say that, while they acknowledge every citizen's desire for privacy, this desire must be held in balance with safety measures. However, these safety measures are not a reasonable trade for the invasion of privacy that citizens must now suffer, so the TSA must abandon such measures.

The argument is based on several fallacious assumptions and fails to provide substantive evidences to justify them. Primarily, it assumes that the refusal of people to abide by the newly implemented full-body searches are unreasonable because of the invasion of privacy and summarily disregards any other factor that might be prevalent, thus making the main conclusion invalid.

First of all, the full body searches are random in nature. Even though they were judged to be excessively revealing by some people these people might be a small contingent of the very large safety concerned people in total. Because of the randomness of the system, only a few people everyday will be exposed to the full-body search and others will continue to operate just as normal. Again, if the people complaining are determined to be a very small faction or maybe only those people who actually have to hide something then the arguments conclusion totally falls apart. Some people, for example, might be just complaining as they are mimicking other people but will cede soon enough as they understand the importance of the measure. The argument, therefore, needs to provide substantive evidence regarding the content and the strength of complain through a widespread survey. Even then it would have to further prove that those people consist a very considerable number amount all the passengers to be believable.

Additionally, the argument makes further unwarranted assumptions. It claims that invasion of privacy is not resonable enough to employ the safety measures. But it explicitely states that the search would be done by full-body scanners which are just machines programmed to perform the safety measures. A regular person should have no problem revealing himself in front of a machine. Even if the search were to be done by humans, the system could make it more amenable by using male searchers for males and females for female passengers which then wouldn't be as revealing or embarrassing as the argument claims it to be. If we had information that even though full-body is written, the passengers are only asked to remove their outer body clothing and not their underwear, then the arguments assumption that the privacy is severely invaded falls apart.

Finally, the argument, without any evidence claims that the safety measures aren't reasonable which seems spurious. It fails to provide any proof regarding the fact that the measure wouldn't greatly increase the safety of the passengers. If people are exposed to random searches, he/she will always have to be careful in carrying illicit material or things with them and suicide bombers or terrorists would be much less likely to carry dangerous firearms on their body. The measure, will therefore greatly increase the safety of the passengers while only making a small inconvenience for some small group of people whom the random process chooses. Without providing any evidence that weakens the increased safety factor of the proposed measure, the arguments assumption that it is unreasonable is not credible.

In conclusion, the argument makes several unattended assumptions and untill further evidence is provided, these assumptions severely undermine the argument presented.