"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The argument is based  on several fallacious assumptions and fails to provide evidences to support them. It provides information about the costs and dangers of manned flights and assumes that unmanned flights are generally cheaper and more safe while also assuming that a machine will be able to replicate tasks that a trained astronaut is capable of doing, all of which is based on vague or ambiguous reasonings.

For one, Machines and humans aren't same but the argument assumes them to be equal. Men is the creator of machines and the artificial intelligence on which the machine operates is based one how it is programmed to do. Therefore, machines aren't capable of judgement which is the single biggest factor that keeps them apart. What if there is some unpredented change during the flight and the man needs to manually change the course for the space shuttle to be safe. Only human beings are capable of doing that but machines cannot since they weren't programmed to do so and they cannot adapt to changes as a man can. Therefore the differences between man anc machines  severely undermines the opinion presented in the argument.

Secondly, the argument states that manned space flight is costly and dangerous and assumes that unmanned flight is without costs and risks without providing any evidence about it. But we need to ask, is that really true? Some of today's cutting edge technologies are far more costly and to replace what a single human being is capable of doing we might need lots of technology to operate different functions. Therefore, an unmanned space probe might be just as costly if not more than a manned flight in many cases. Again, to avoid an asteroid, the space probe might need to make several changes in its locus which is a split-second decision that man is capable of doing thereby saving the space probe from being destroyed and thus making it safer. But the same cannot be said for machines who depend on fixed pregramming to operate and thus wouldn't be capable of saving the shuttle in this case.

Finally, the argument unwarrantingly assumes that machines can aquire a great deal of useful information and those are more or less same as what a man is capable of. But how can we judge that men is not way better than machines when it comes to accumulating information. The very fact that machines are gathering "useful" information is because of the reason that men has programmed it to deem those informations as "useful". There might be some new information which is way important than what is traditionally required and only man is capable of determining it because they possess intelligence and can make choices but not machines since they won't be able to work outside their fixed range. Thus the unmanned flights are gathering equally important and useful information as a man can is a fallacy on which the opinion is based.

Thus, there are several unattended assumptions about the safety and cost and also the efficiency of manned and unmanned flights and untill further evidence is provided, these assumptions severely undermines the argument presented.