Some people believe it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle, given the evidence for global climate change. Others believe that such drastic lifestyle changes are unwarranted, based on the existing evidence for global climate change.

Energy and resource shortage has become the burning point of debate in the last few deacades. In fact, even as we talk now, somewhere in the world resources are decreasing in an alarming rate which brings my opinion in this case closely matched with the position that states developed nations should reduce their energy consumption to lead a more sustainable lifestyle. However, this by no way means that developed nations should be the only ones temperating their methods where other parts of the world remains as profligate with their usage as they are now.

We need to look no further than our current states of non-renewable energy to determine the precarious state that humankind is in. Our natural gas and fuel pits are decreasing in number and some of the countries in the world need to depend on fuel rich countries as they don't have enough of their own. Additionally, as the world progresses and newer innovations are made, our energy consumption inevitably increases. This is most prominent in the developed countries where most of the innovations proliferate. However, that doesn't go to say that countries other than the developed ones should use energy as they please. Therefore, to improve the current dangerous situation while also thinking about our future generation, all of the countries in the world should try to minimize their energy consumption as much as possible.

The second position states that based on the extant evidences of global climate change we are fine in our usage of energy. But then we need to ask, exactly what are these evidences and till when can actually depend on them. Recent findings definitively denote that the world's resources are diminishing precipitously and ameliorating actions are exigent. Nevertheless, some people think that it is fine to go on spending energy as they are used to but when saying that, they are largely ignoring the several concerning facts and evidences that point to the contrary. In fact, these are the people that are apathetic to change and who don't want to think about the future as they are content with their current life. However, if all the people were to think like them then the day is not far when our civilization is decimated.

As the non-renewable sources continue to decline, we need to put more emphasis on the renewable sources to generate energy. Likewise, we need to improve already existing technologies like nuclear reactors and hydro-electric projects. However, the point in which all of our energy needs are met by the renewable sources only is very far away and until we are able to reach that point, we have no choice other than to depend on the conventional, non-renewable ones. And if we are to use energy as prodigally as we are doing now, that point where we switch to renewable sources will never come, seeing that we'll not have enough energy to sustain ourselves to that point anyway.

All things considered, in light of the current states and existing evidences, we can safely say that the way we are using energy now is largely deleterious to our survival. It not only falls on the developed countries, but rather on every citizen of every country to be a little more moderate in their usage of energy so there can come a day when we are looking at a bright, new future where energy consumption is not a factor to our survival anymore.