As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

The rise of technology was an inexorable shift in the human history. While new innovations bring new ideas, jobs and new ways to approach the world, it nevertheless brings more reliance that in turn creates apathy, even aversion in people to think more deeply.

Looking at our daily lives, we see that technology has brought a lot of new gadgets to lessen our workload. Take the gadget calculator for example. In Bangladesh, students are allowed to use calculator for their exams from the 8th grade. Researches have found that many students who used to think a lot with their heads before the 8th grade think less after calculator is allowed to be used. By the 10th grade they are completely used to using the calculator and by the time they reach university, they want to do even simple calculations like adding 2 digit numbers in calculators and generally have an aversion to using their head even when it would be faster to do so.

Another example is the memory of the devices that we now use. Now that the memory capacity is really large and we can store things like our writings or formulas permanently, we no longer try to keep them in our head even simple formulas that'd help normal calculations. We are so reliant on different apps to keep track of things for us that we don't feel the need to remember things anymore that would be considered general knowledge otherwise.

We cannot, however disregard the importance of technology in our life by any means. The rise of technology has opened up new ways to think. To keep pace with the ever changing world and its innovations, we ourselves have to improve and thus we need to think better and faster than ever before. That by itself, utilizes the human mind to think more deeply that wouldn't be possible without these innovations.

Technology brings with itself a lot of reliance on it which inevitably has its downsides. This however, cannot undermine the importance technology has on our everyday life and the way it has improved our ways of thinking and learning. All of this ultimately depends on how we, humans, decide to use technology to dictate our lives, meaning whether we want to use it to its greatest extent to improve ourselves or do we want to be reliant on it so much that we lose our own thinking abilities and be nothing more than some unintelligent being.