Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they

are unlikely to succeed .

I largely disagree with the contention as dissuading students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed can have major deleterious effects both on the student and the education system. As the quality of the person being assessed is also unclear, despite having some beneficial effects, the system is likely to break down due to various reasons and thus must be rethought.

First of all, Forcing a student to follow a certain rigid path in which he has no interest or experience whatsoever might break the spirit of the student. A lot of students have different dreams and outlooks for their future and when they are denied that, their moral may go down drastically. Except for certain strong individuals, most people cannot readily act to change in their surrounding environment and as they are generally apathetic to the task in hand, their work may seem purfuctory at best. So, even if they are employed in the fields of study chosen for them, there may not be any significant improvement in both the student and the field itself in many years to come.

Secondly, the quality of the assessment that will be done to the students is a question that needs to be answered. It can very well be that due to an improper and parochial outlook, the judge decides against some path for a student in which he might have succeeded. Also, human beings are susceptible to change. One prospective future that might look bleak for a student now, may change momentarily in the future due to the change in environment, outlook and mentality of the student himself. Moreover, no perfect research exists in which we can say for sure that a student can never do well in a certain field of study. Thus the quality of the assessment and the mercurial nature of human mind is needed to be kept in mind when making a decision in this cases.

However, if the assessment is done by qualified, professional individuals, who not only have amassed great experience in the field but also are able to put themselves in the shoes of the students, this strategy may be quite fruitful. As students will be chosen for fields of work in which they are likely to succeed based on their strengths, it might be easier for them to adapt to their fields readily. They are also likely to improve their individual talents and prove fecund for the field itself. As some students are largely undecided, what to do with their future, If they are able to adapt to the change in their milieu and perspective, this strategy might just be the puch that they need to be a part of the larger society.

In conclusion, to go along with the author's suggestion we have to keep in mind the judgement process, it's quality, its effect on students and whether the student will be able to cope with the process over all which is quite an arduous task when we think of an entire country. Depending on these selections, however, we can decide for ourselves that whether it will be a system that slowly eat away at the minds of our students and be pernicious to the sytem overall or a great boon which will persist to improve our society and education sector in the years to come.