"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The argument is full of unattended issues and is therefore flawed. It deems the viewers and the advertisers as the same people and unwarrantingly assumes that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former levels will stop the loss of revenues and doesn't consider other facts that might be the reason for the advertisers' general apathy.

Firstly, the television viewers complaints is only known to have been about the stations coverage of weather and local news. But nothing about the contents of the complaints are known. They may simply be complaining about how the quality of the local news has fallen. Maybe they're concerned that the recent news that are being being published aren't completely justified. They might also complain about the qualification of the news and weather repoters themselves as the earlier ones might have been better. We just do not know. To assess the situation better, therefore, we need to know about the contents and the scope of the viewers complaints.

Socondly, the viewers may not be the same as the local advertisers. So, we cannot assume that they are canceling their contracts because of the decreased time of local and weather news. They might have plenty of other reasons such as they aren't given as much screen time as before and so their advertisings aren't being fruitful. Most of the people watch their television during the day till the night and therefore the late-night shows might not even have anything to do with those advertisements in the first place. Or, maybe the advertisers are concerned that the censoring of their advertisements to fit the need and space of the tv channel removes key elements from their advertisements. All of these considered, we need to do a widespread survey among the local advertisers to know what the reason for their cancelling of the contracts and then assess what we need to do to ameliorate the problem.

Finally, Addressing the issue of restoring the time to weather and local news might not have is intended effect which is to not lose further revenue. As stated before, the advertisers may have many other reasons for not complying with the tv channel. Thus remedy of the local news issue will not stop the actual reason of the advertisers disinclination from perpetuating and thus won't help the revenue problem. Again, the last advertising company to cancel their contract maybe was the last of them all and so there may not be any need to change or modify the system. The advertisers may be having a budget problem and that may be the reason for the cancellation of their contracts. Thus we need further information about the link between the advertisers' situations and the decreasing revenue and then we can get further insight onto the matter.

To conclude, we need a lot more information and data than currently provided to assess the situation in question. Depending on the assessments done, we can, then take necessary steps to modify the system for better suitability for both the viewers and the advertisers alike and thus resolve the problem of declining revenues.