An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The argument is based on several fallacious assumptions and fails to provide substantive evidences to justify them. Primarily, it makes the unwarranted assumption that developing a new type of costly millet will result in the reduction of the vitamin A deficiency, rendering the main conclusion, that the government should promote the millet, invalid.

First of all, the argument explicitly states that the nation of Tagus is impoverished. As the cost of the new type of millets is higher, we can safely assume that the poor farmers of the seeds will not be able to buy them on their own. Pertaining to this situation, the government will allow subsidies to the farmers. But we need to ask, will the subsidies be enough to outweigh the costs of producing the new type of millet? What if the production requires much more than the amount given? Or what would happen if the business isn't successful at all? Maybe, to combat the insecticides of the plants, the farmers would need more money that the initial cost of the seeds and they can't keep the production business going. A strongly detailed survey of the farmer's economic situation and growth system of the new type of millet is required to properly asses this situation. Even then answers concerning the popularity of the millet or the farmer's interest in producing the millet will be required.

The argument assumes that the government will be allowing subsidies to the poor farmers, but what of the penurious people of the country themselves? These people, who are the main buyers of the millet, no economic assistance is provided to them. Considering the high cost of the seeds, we can assume the the produced pills will be equally expensive if not higher. Therefore, even if the millet production is successful, there is no meaning if the buyers don't even have enough money to buy them in the first place. One might ask, are people economically stable to buy the new millets? Are they even interested in the millets? Thus several questions remains unanswered and these needs to be dealt with before further insight can be poured onto the matter.

Finally, the assumption that as people already have millets as a staple food, they will readily buy the new one is unjustified. There is no evidence that the new millet is better that the previous one. Several questions come to mind. What is the new millet lacks other vitamin nutrients and will result in another deficiency other that vitamin A? What will happen if people take such a high dose of vitamin A, will they be safe or will there be any side-effect? Thus answers concerning the nutrient balance of the new millet as well as its safety is required. Even if these questions are answered, we can never say that the pill will be readily adopted because many people dislike a change and there can a variety of reasons why the mills will not be accepted in the nation of Tagus, thus rendering the situation that vitamin A deficincy problem will be solved, improbable.

In conclusion, the argument is filled will unattended holes concerning the economic ability of the buyers, the amount of the subsidy and the acceptance of the people of the nation and until further evidence is provided to strengthen it, these assumptions severely undermine the argument presented.