"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring.

The result of the study is based upon a lot of porous information and is therefore faulty. There are numerous reasons why the study done for 28 Rhesus monkeys doesn't account for a comprehensive study about the behavior pattern for monkeys and it also doesn't explain the study's relation with human infants. There are also alternate explanations for the facts presented in the passage that can produce different reasons why the firstborns are creating more cortisol and it is definitely not based of birth order.

First of all, The study done on only 28 monkeys and then taking the study result as an exhautive study of firstborn behavior is fallacious. The number 28 is too small to a sample for a study to be this conclusive. Then, the study also doesn't provide information about the number of infant and parent monkeys in the selected set of 28 monkeys. It can very well be that half of the 28 monkeys are parent monkeys leaving only the other half for being infants and only 2 or 3 of them have siblings. Then the increase of cortisol among these few numbers cannot definitively provide information for the behavior of all the monkeys in the world. Moreover, the monkeys may be kept in different cells so that whenever they see some other monkey, they get excited seeing a being that they are similar and that can account for the increase of cortisol as well. Therefore, to conclusively understand the increase of cortisol, we need further information about studies done on a larger sample as well as the distribution of the parent-child withing the samples.

Secondly, although monkeys are very similar to humans in a lot of ways, there are distinctive differences that make them different species. Therefore, a study done on monkeys cannot be related to the humans without proper evidence or studies on humans themselves. A firstborn human infant may have no other sibilings and is therefore raised by only their parents and no other person. The parents may also be out for work most of the time and that accounts for the reason why firstborn human infants are excited when they see their parents. As for their younger sibilings, when they are born and raised, their have a older sibiling and not raised by their parents alone. So, they have someone always close to them, namely their elder sibiling and that accounts for the fact why the younger ones aren't as excited as the elder ones when they see their parents.

Finally, a monkey that is pregnant for the first time may have no idea what is going to happen to her in the next few days or even the next few moments which accounts for the reason why they are producing extra cortisol when compared to another one who has had experience with childbirth before and is, therefore, aware of the process of childbirth. Therefore, monkeys who had a child before isn't as excited as the monkey who is going to be the mother for the first time in her life. Also, this doesn't account for the fact why the firstborn child who is inside in her mothers belly is also producing more cortisol and the two matters may not even be related at all. Therefore, we need far more research data and proper evidence to get further insight onto the matter.

In conclusion, the sample size of the study is too small for the research to be a comprehensive one and there are also some holes within the result and its possible reasons. There are also alternate explanation of the facts that can prove that the conclusion derived from the study may not be entirely correct. We, therefore, need a proper research done on a much larger samples to draw a definitive conclusion along with other relevant data, otherwise the study done is deemed faulty and inconclusive.