One increasingly popular policy for promoting renewable energy is a feed-in tariff. Under such a policy, investors on any scale, from large corporations to individual homeowners, produce their own energy from solar panels installed on their property. Electricity companies are then required to purchase the energy through a long-term contract at an increased rate that would allow the investors to more than offset the cost over time. There is no denying that the initial cost of solar installation would be a burden on the investor. In strenuous economic times, both businesses and homeowners might be reluctant to make the investment, with concern that the payout could be less than sufficient or the plan might prove unfeasible. However, research has shown that a feed-in tariff plan is not only stable but also exceptionally effective, and ought to be more actively pursued.

The argument is based on several fallacious assumptions and fails to provide substantive evidences to support them. It unwarrantedly assumes that investors of solar panels will be able to reap enough profit to offset the initial high cost while summarily disregarding important factors such as the nature of the energy, time duration of the contracts and ambiguity of the research results, rendering its main conclusion, that the feed-in-tariff system needs to be more actively pursued, invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification that, even under strenuous circumstances, investors will be willing and prosperous enough to invest in solar energy. Just as individual investors, the initial cost can be equally high for large companies and the results can be in just as much risk. There is no telling what the results of a feed-in-tariff contract would be after 2 years, as there can be myriad of reasons that can cause the contract to cease or be compromised heavily. In fact, because of all the risks and initial high cost, no one, including individual and large corporations might even be interested in the system at all. Had the argument provided any justification that the profits will undoubtedly offset the high initial cost, then we could get further insight onto the matter. Even then, it would have to prove that the companies and individuals are interested to invest in the solar panel business at all.

There is also another concerning fact regarding the ambiguity of the research and its results. For one, the research doesn't tell us on which group people it was based on. Maybe, it was done on only people related to large corporations or people that already had a high enough capital who could sustain the business even through loss of profit during the first few years. But, then the argument doesn't hold true in any of the cases regarding an individual investor. Additionally, the research also gives information about "stable" and "exceptionally effective" plans, but both of the terms are sufficiently vague in their nature because they don't explain actually what makes the plan "stable" or "exceptionally effective". if we had more information about the people on which the research was based on and concrete interpretation of the terms, the argument could be further strengthened.

Finally, the argument assumes that a new kind of energy, which is solar energy is becoming increasingly popular. But for all we know, its not yet established as an alternate energy source to the standard non-renewable one and what might be considered popular today, might not be the same one year from now. For all we know, the business could totally fall apart because of numerous other dificulties other than ample capital or public interest. Furthermore, we have no evidence to prove that solar energy will continue to be popular and thus make substantial returns as the argument assumes it to do. The argument, therefore, needs to strengthen its claims by providing further evidences concerning the continuing popularity of the solar panel and its basis of the feed-in-tariff system.

Thus, the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions and until further evidence is provided to strengthen them, these assumptions severely undermine the argument presented.